Posted in being grown up, employment, family, home, money, shopping

‘All children, except one, grow up’ or, the day I realised I am not Peter Pan

peter pan

My life needs some direction. It’s not me saying this. It’s the universe, karma, fate. And also my boyfriends parents.Here are a list of things that have just happened or are about to happen:
+ Boyfriend graduated university, secured employment and became a full qualified proper adult person.
+ I realised I cannot stay in my job due to intense boredom.
+ My mother sold her townhouse and bought her ‘this is my retirement plan’ home.
+ Boyfriend’s parents announced that they will be selling the family home in two months, leaving le boy essentially homeless.
+ My father died last month. This, apart from being devastating, left me as the executor of his estate and in charge of lots of grown up, complicated legal and financial things.

I was quite happy floating along in my 22-year-old bubble of fun disorganisation. But the bubble has been effectively popped.

So here I will document, complain about, advise on and descry the amazing, scary, exciting, grown up ride that is moving out of home, buying health insurance, dividing property, demystifying superannuation death benefits, applying for rental properties, buying op-shop furniture, paying bills and writing job applications.

This is Julia, being grown up.

Author:

My name is Julia. I'm 24. I like writing and making tragicomic mistakes.

Leave a Reply

