Posted in being grown up, employment

Can I wear my nose ring to the interview?

I have my nose pierced, and while studs are dainty and pretty, I’m not one to be swayed away from a nose ring. Not by my mother, not by my friend who exclaimed ‘They are disgusting!’ (she told me mine looked ‘cute’ though), and not by my boyfriend.

EDIT: Last night my boyfriend, unprompted, said I’ve changed his view on noserings – he thinks they’re awesome now!

The thing is, I don’t think that wearing a small metal loop through my nose has any impact on my ability to be professional or dedicated or intelligent. But I wonder if some people do.

So I googled ‘Can I wear my nose ring to an interview?’ It turns out someone has written a book to that effect:

Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview?: A Crash Course in Finding, Landing, and Keeping Your First Real Job By Ellen Gordon Reeves

According to the Amazon book review:

“Yes, if you’re wedded to your nose ring, wear it to the interview.”

So that solves that. This is Julia, being grown up.

Author:

My name is Julia. I'm 24. I like writing and making tragicomic mistakes.

One thought on “Can I wear my nose ring to the interview?

Leave a Reply

