Posted in being grown up, family

Is 24 the new 30?

When did we start growing up again? Generation Y has been lamented and lauded as the generation that won’t get a job, that won’t leave home. But from where I’m sitting, that just doesn’t seem to be the case.

Over the Easter long weekend, my 24-year-old cousin got engaged. Another of my cousins, also 24, is having a baby this month. And this morning I found out my friend, who just happens to be (can you guess?) 24, is pregnant.

So is my social circle an unusual sample?  It seems to almost be a reaction to the slowness of our 25-30 year old peers, a rebellion against the new ‘norm’. It may be that our generation will be split into two groups, the Peter Pan’s and the Wendy’s.

All I know for sure is that at 22 and a half, 18 months doesn’t seem long enough to prepare me to be an adult.

Author:

My name is Julia. I'm 24. I like writing and making tragicomic mistakes.

2 thoughts on “Is 24 the new 30?

  1. I don’t think your circle is unusual…in my group of friends, we all live out of home, we all have full time jobs, we are all married or engaged… some of us have kids, some of us have powerful positions in our professions, some of us have our own businesses, we are all under 26. I like the Peter Pan and the Wendy’s thing….that’s a good way of putting it. I like to think that our generation know exactly what they want and will get it, whether that’s “growing up” or otherwise. I think our generation is the most confident.

    1. That’s a really good way of thinking about it, and thank you for commenting. I like your suggestion that it’s confidence. I do agree we have a lot more options in terms of what we decide to do with our lives and when we do it. It’s overwhelming sometimes, but also very empowering.

Leave a Reply

