Posted in being grown up, food, home, money

Broken Appliances Come in Threes: Part Two

Last week on Julia’s thrilling life…

My dishwasher was successfully replaced after a long, painful process, and almost immediately the fridge stopped working.

So. Like most things in my house, my fridge was inherited my my father. I’m not sure why, but Dad always wanted to economise to the nth degree, so this was just about the tiniest, cheapest fridge you can get. For about 12 months we had struggled to pack in enough food to feed us both. (This becomes a bigger challenge when you realise the full extent of boyfriends food needs – he averages 10,000 calories a day.)

Small fridge + big appetite = very full shelves
Small fridge + big appetite = very full shelves

The opportunity to get a slightly bigger fridge was pretty exciting. The cost, and the logistics of getting the fridge home, were not.

After having a serious chat over coffee about the merits of white vs. stainless steel, upside down freezers and deli compartments, we settled on a basic model. The sales assistant then charged us for a fancier one we didn’t want. Luckily we noticed and were able to get a refund of the price difference.

We needed a fridge that day, since all our food was quickly defrosting, and it was a Saturday, so delivery wasn’t an option. But I am not exaggerating when I say that working out how to get that fridge the 4km from the Good Guys to our house nearly ended my relationship. I had no idea that the various methods for securing appliances with octopus straps could cause so much tension. In the end I told boyfriend that he could sort it out himself and watched Star Wars IV. One of my less successful adult moments.

But I took care of cleaning out the old fridge and getting the new one all set up. I guess you win some, you lose some.

Part Three: The lid fell of the washing machine. At this stage we absolutely refused to get any new appliances. So our washing machine is currently bumping and swishing around with no lid. Ah, the glamourous life I lead.

I have realised all of this probably isn’t that interesting. But it has occupied a lot of my grown up, adult, responsible housekeeper thoughts of late. I’ll try to be a bit more exciting next post.

In the meantime, I hope all of your appliances function perfectly.

This is Julia, keeping her cool, and being grown up.

Author:

My name is Julia. I'm 24. I like writing and making tragicomic mistakes.

Leave a Reply

