Posted in being grown up, goals

A celebration of sorts

There are a couple of reasons I haven’t written lately. Actually, it’s really just one reason that created a bunch of others.

For university this semester, I had an assignment to write a 15,000 word creative piece. It took me two-and-a-half months, and during that time, it absorbed all of my creative energy. I simply did not have any other writing in me. It’s submitted now, and I am nervously awaiting the result.

IMG_5885.JPG

I think it’s like any important piece of work. Even after nine drafts, I wasn’t satisfied that my work was finished. It got to the point where I just had to let go. It’s a scary, exciting, painful thing to do – letting go.

In doing so, I completed the final requirements for my Bachelors degree. It’s the end of five years of study, and the start of many new adventures. I’ve got quite a few big things to tell you about soon.

For now, I’m just enjoying not having deadlines hanging over my head.

This is Julia, being grown up.

Author:

My name is Julia. I'm 24. I like writing and making tragicomic mistakes.

Leave a Reply

