Posted in being grown up, employment

Counting Down

I have five weeks left at work before I begin a one-year holiday in Europe!

25 week days.

600 hours.

36,000 minutes

…okay stop. I have to admit, I’m getting distracted.

Keeping motivation at work is becoming difficult. I regularly find myself minimizing whatever I am supposed to be doing and googling hotels I might stay in or festivals I might go to, places I want to visit and all other sorts of travel related diversions. It’s fair to say that my productivity has decreased – mentally, I’ve already checked out from my job.

So I’ve been gathering some tips for staying motivated at work:

  • Keep a ‘To-Do’ list:

This is sort of a reminder for me. I religiously write down all my tasks and projects at work. Nothing is too small of a task to be written down. But lately, I can get to the end of the day and realise I haven’t even gotten my notebook out of the filing cabinet.

  • Take regular stock take of what you’ve achieved:

The To-Do list will help! It’s so rewarding to see all those little ticks.

  • Take coffee/chat/walk breaks:

Don’t try to concentrate all day long – this is pretty much setting up for failure. I inevitably find myself back googling ways to survive the weather in Iceland or how to pack a suitcase most effectively.

  • Tidy your desk:

Chaos and productivity are not friends – at least not for me. So I take a few minutes a couple of times a day to clean my coffee mug and organise my books and papers.

And the final tip:

  • Cut yourself a little slack:

After all…THERE’S ONLY SIX WEEKS UNTIL I GO TO EUROPE FOR ONE WHOLE YEAR!!

This is Julia, being grown up.

Author:

My name is Julia. I'm 24. I like writing and making tragicomic mistakes.

Leave a Reply

